Attention Stock Brokers

By: Dennis Bates

So how many of you think the financial crisis is over after yesterday’s stock market surge? Raise your hands, so I can get a good hand count. Go ahead, raise them. I can’t see you from here. Okay, so far I see exactly…none. No faith, huh?

 

I guess that means it’s still not a good time to put the $1.12 I have left in my 401k back into the stock market. On the other hand, do I just want to sit around waiting for it to drop to only 12 cents? Okay, so it isn’t really quite that bad…yet… but watching all of this still makes me scratch my head and wonder a little.

 

How can people be so easily persuaded to have faith in something like the stock market, and it’s uncertain nature, but at the same time be so hesitant to believe in the existence of God? I mean, which one takes the most faith? And why are they so different?

 

The book of Hebrews in the New Testament tells us that faith “…is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.” That’s not such a difficult concept from believing in the stock market if you really think about it. Let’s look at economics again for a minute.

 

It’s show of hands time again. Who out there has ever really seen a “supply” or a “demand?” Come on, surely someone has; after all, our entire capitalistic economic system is based on the law of supply and demand, so somebody must have seen those things at least once. Otherwise, how can we bet the farm on their existence?

 

Nobody, then.

 

But we are certain that they exist even if we can’t see them. I am sorry for some of you, but if you believe in the law of supply and demand, then you have faith by definition. But don’t worry, your secret is safe with me. I won’t tell. You also invested in the stock market hoping it would go up again and make you some money. Oh goodness; you have it bad. Faith, I mean; that’s another definition. Faith is being sure of what we hope for.

 

Are you sure, you’re sure? It’s not too late to rethink it. Or, would you rather that all your friends knew that you have bet your life savings (some of you more than that) on something you can’t see and only hope exists? Just checking.

 

Maybe there’s still a chance for you; just don’t tell me that you believe in this mythical concept of supply and demand because if you do believe in it, if you believe that it exists and that it will reward you if you continue to believe it exists…well, there’s not much I can do to help. You have faith, and that’s all there is to it.

 

It’s the same way with God. If you believe in His existence, you can approach Him and know that He will reward you for it. So, see, you have faith and you didn’t even know it. We are a lot alike, except for one itsy bitsy, little thing.

 

You have faith in an economic principle that, at best, can make you rich enough to be comfortable for a fixed period of time…say 80 or 90 years if you’re fortunate. I have faith in a God who will make me comfortable for a lifetime, plus eternity. Who has the better investment?

 

If you want investment advice from my stock broker, you can find it at John 3:16, or drop in at any of His branch offices which are open every Sunday.

Leave a Reply

