I Don’t Resolve

By: Dennis Bates

As Staci indicated and most of you know, this is the time when we do a personal inventory to determine what is working in our lives and what needs to be corrected, fine tuned or just plain left out. I need to lose weight; I need to spend more time with my family; I need to spend more time praying before I do things.

 

There are several problems with this kind of thinking. The first glaring problem is that most New Year’s resolutions are more honored in the breach than they are in the observance with all due respect for Shakespeare who wrote that in Hamlet. Simply put, how many times do we say I resolve to lose weight this year (one of my perennial promises to myself) only to break that resolution before the ink we used dry on the paper? And we used a ball point pen.

 

We resolve even as we know we won’t keep most of those resolutions past the first real test.

 

Another problem should be even more evident. New Year’s resolutions all start with the word I. They are me centered. I will do this; I won’t do that. I, I, I and more I’s. We should all know by now that I (you and me) can’t do anything without Him. God needs to be in charge of our resolutions; not us.

 

That’s why I want to say a hearty Amen to Staci’s “Make Every Day Count” blog from yesterday. It puts every day in God’s hands and leaves our direction for each day in his hands.  He is the conductor and we are only the instruments in the orchestra. We are ready to play our instruments to the best of our abilities, but only when he gives the down beat.

 

God sets the tempo, provides the soft and loud dynamics and interprets the music. If we could only really believe that and wait for His down beat, we would have a much better sounding orchestra…one day at a time.

One Response to I Don’t Resolve

  1. Peg Phifer says:

    I like this analogy, Dennis. As a musician, I can totally relate to God as the conductor and me as the member of the orchestra—only in my case it would be the choir. In either instance, it is necessary to keep my eye on the conductor or I quickly lose my place or miss a cue.

    Thanks for reminding me. Oh, and I don’t resolve, either.

    Peg

Leave a Reply

