Showing up Beautiful

By:  Staci Stallings

I’ve been reading a book called “Captivating,” and it is.  It’s about women and their place in God’s Kingdom.  One of the things it talks about is beauty, and how one of a woman’s contributions to our world is beauty.  Now stay with me here, this is not about relegating women to some backroom.  In fact, this book makes the point that Eve was God’s final creation.  If you look at the whole of creation, you see that God’s creations were progessively more complex and intelligent.  Darkness and light, sea and land, fishes, animals, then man, then woman.  Thus, woman is the pinnacle of creation.

The authors (John & Staci Eldredge) say that Eve was chosen by Satan as THE target, not one of the targets.  He chose her because he was jealous of her beauty, and he wanted to take God’s best creation down.  They say that Adam’s fault was standing silently by (though he was right there) and not defending Eve from the wiles of the enemy.  Stemming from all of this, they make the case that the daughters of Eve have had a special target on them ever since.  It is not hard to see that to be the case.  Women down through history have been beaten, raped, treated as property, bought and sold, killed, maimed, and degraded.  And it’s not like we’ve learned anything.  Witness the “father” (and I use that term loosely) in California who sold his 14-year-old daughter into “marriage” for $16,000 and some beer.

What I had never really understood before reading “Captivating” is how threatened Satan is by a woman’s beauty.  He is threatened by her outer beauty, her inner beauty, and the beauty she brings to the world.  Think about it.  Who puts flowers on your coffee table?  The man?  Or the woman?  Who picks out the wallpaper, the paint, the decorations?  Who puts on makeup and high heels to go out?  Who dresses the family?  Who plants flowers and cleans the house?

I’m not saying men NEVER do these things, but they are much less important to most men than to most women.  In fact, my blog partner can attest to who wants the lawn mowed at his house (yes, HE gets to do it, but it’s not his idea!).

You may not know this about me, but my inner warrior woman comes out when Satan starts messing with me or anyone I identify with.  It makes me MAD that he gets away with such BUNK as the lies and manipulation he propogates on people.  So when I understood the lie here that he has used to keep ME down, WOW did I get mad!

And I can see it.  I can see how he’s convinced me not to show up totally, that too much of me is a bad thing, that people will not like me or will judge me for being too much.  So I used things like not keeping my house clean or not dressing up and other things so I didn’t show up as “too much.”  Well, you know what?  That’s over!

From now on, I’m showing up beautiful, and Satan can go eat crow.  I challenge every one of you beautiful women to start showing up beautiful.  It’s what God made you to do–not the only thing–but a very important thing, and one you do so well.

Have fun!

2 Responses to Showing up Beautiful

  1. Kathleen L. Maher says:

    I’ve read Captivating, and it left an impact on me, too. I particularly liked Staci’s discussion on the types of persona’s women take on to compensate in their reticence to be alluring. I have dealt with the controlling woman innumerable times in my life. Women just don’t understand their God-given roles and freedoms. We don’t need to rule over men to feel free, but in finding our balance in submission and vulnerability we find our utmost strength and joy. Titus 2 tells a woman God’s best intentions for her fruitfulness and fulfillment. God knows best, even though the modern woman has tried to reinvent herself according to her own design. Over-achieving and encroaching on men’s domain has left us exhausted and depleted.
    Good topic!

  2. Kathleen, I know the controlling woman well. I lived with her (me) for about 34 miserable years. Trying to be a “man” doesn’t work. Like you said it just leaves you depleted and exhausted. I knew something was wrong, but I didn’t understand what. The more I read on learning to be who God made me to be instead of trying desperately to be someone He didn’t, the more I learn to be at peace and the happier and more successful I become. What a concept! Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

