Hope in the Lord

By: Dennis Bates

There are some things you just can never really know until you experience them. Some of the “bonuses” of getting older cannot be understood by younger people. For example, my father used to say that the worst thing about getting older was all the aches and pains. None are all that big, except they add up when they all decide to join forces and play at the same time.

 

So this morning when I got up and my shoulders vied with my knee for the most painful joint in my body, my thumbs and my fingers got jealous and decided to be extra stiff themselves. Throw in a sinus headache caused by weather that can deviate as much as 30 degrees in an hour and I understood what Dad was talking about. I never had any of these problems when I was younger; why now?

 

Young people just don’t get these things, but for most of them, their day is coming. It’s no wonder now that I’m older that one of my favorite passages in the Bible comes from Isaiah 40:28-31:

 

Do you not know?

Have you not heard?

The Lord is the everlasting God,

the Creator of the ends of the earth.

He will not grow tired or weary,

and His understand no one can fathom.

He gives strength to the weary

and increase the power of the weak.

Even youths grow tired and weary,

and young men stumble and fall;

but those who hope in the Lord

will renew their strength.

They will soar on wings like eagles;

they will run and not grow weary,

they will walk and not be faint.

 

These verses are woven into a book I hope to have out one of these days. There is hardly a week that goes by that I don’t go back and read this passage. If you want to soar, hope in the Lord. If you want to run instead of be weary, remember the eagles. We are never alone. Our God does not grow tired or weary. He is the everlasting God.

 

How can you not have hope and feel energized when you pray on these verses?

 

One Response to Hope in the Lord

  1. Peg Phifer says:

    I love that Bible passage, too, Dennis. Those words are so full of hope . . . and promise.

    As to the creaks and cricks, aches and pains? Yeah, I know all about ’em.

Leave a Reply

