Dancing with the Star

By: Dennis Bates

I’m going to depart from my usual subject matter today and address something that all of America has to be asking itself. How in the world is that fat computer geek still on “Dancing with the Stars”? I mean, come on. As writers we are taught to rely heavily on the willing suspensions of disbelief, but that doesn’t mean we have to accept bending all credulity to the point of shattering it into a million pieces.

 

The guy can’t dance. He can’t even gallop around the stage in a socially acceptable manner. Let me emphasize one point here. Of all the dancers on the show I look the most like him of any of them, absent the simple minded smile he always flashes. I should feel for him and I do, but embarrassment doesn’t count.  He is making a mockery out of the show, and that’s hard to do when the bar is set so low to begin with!

 

And, evidently, America is buying it. Let me make another point clear here. I don’t like these shows, and don’t usually watch them but my wife makes me, calling it quality time together. Really. Not that I minded Carrie Underwood on American Idol a few years back, but I watched her because she sings great. Yes, I did notice that she is more than a little attractive too, but it’s the singing. Honest. I have two daughters older than she is, not to mention several pairs of socks.

 

I like Shawn Johnson on Dancing this year too. She’s an Iowa girl, one of my peeps, so I watch her because she is one of the best things that has ever happened to this state. I am an unabashed homer, what can I say? I support the Hawkeye state and all of us bold enough to still claim it as home. You will find a lot of people all over the country who are from Iowa, but the emphasis is usually on the word “from.” I am proud to say I still am.

 

So why all the frivolity today? Sometimes I just think we take ourselves too seriously. Maybe that is the point of the computer geek. Add a little levity to the show to keep our levels of righteous indignation at the full mark.  It has to be something like that because it isn’t about dancing.

 

As believers we do sometimes forget that we are supposed to make a joyful noise to the Lord; we forget that David danced through the streets to celebrate. We think sack cloth and ashes is the uniform of the day instead of the dress for times when we need to repent. Why do we think we can win others to Jesus if we walk around with sour looks on our faces all the time? Who wants that? I don’t.

 

The book of Romans tells us to be joyful in hope and patient in affliction. The Bible has scores of references to joy, joyfulness and happiness.  So, why do we insist on being so somber all the time? If Christians can’t be happy and enjoy themselves knowing they are saved by grace, why would anybody want to join us?

 

Dance with David, raise your hands and praise the Lord for He is good and his steadfast love endures forever. Dance with the real Star.

Leave a Reply

