How many times out of a hundred?

By:  Staci Stallings

You may have noticed (or not) that there was no blog on Thursday.  Well, there’s a good reason for that… I was laid out with something that wiped me out with no real evidence that I was in fact sick.

I had been called to substitute teach in the music classes on Thursday, and feeling fine on Wednesday, I agreed.  Then I woke up Thursday morning.  It’s hard to describe this feeling because it’s like being sick without really BEING sick.  My stomach hurt like it had done 2,000 push-ups.  My legs just hurt.  My chest hurt.  I would have moments were it was hard to breathe.  But I didn’t LOOK sick.  I wasn’t sneezing or coughing.  I wasn’t even really sick to my stomach.  I just did not feel good AT ALL.

But I had agreed, and I didn’t want to let them down as I had when I woke up with my son sick.  So I got ready.  About every three or four minutes, I would have to stop and regroup, and I kept saying, “Holy Spirit, You’re going to have to do this because I don’t think I can.”  I ate… kind of.  I corralled the kids together… kind of.  I was about 1/34245th of an inch from totally losing it, but determination kept me moving.

We got in the van and headed to the first school.  The fight to convince myself that teaching would be possible continued.  First child dropped off.  We headed for the second (destination) school.  I was praying over and over that the Holy Spirit was going to have to do this when my cell phone rang.  Thinking it was some poor excuse for a joke because I was already struggling to drive and stay sane, I answered it.

It was the school secretary. “I’m really sorry but we just had a music teacher show up.  We didn’t know she was coming.  I’m sorry. I’m sure you were already on your way…”  I told her that was wonderful news because I felt so awful bad.  So she told me to go home and get some rest.  When I told my mom what happened later, I said, “Now, seriously.  How many times out of a hundred would that happen… where a music teacher would just show up without having been called by the secretary to sub for a class?!”

Don’t tell anyone, but my theory is the Holy Spirit figured out I was serious about Him having to do it, so He found someone else.  But let’s keep that between us!

Leave a Reply

