Chains

By:  Staci Stallings

Never underestimate the power of the Holy Spirit to bring to mind exactly the metaphor needed to break someone out of one of Satan’s lies!

The other day a friend and I were talking.  She was telling me how several people in her immediate circle of friends and family were “dumping on her.”  You know the type.  They call not to ask how you are, but to tell you how horrible they are.  You might be in foreclosure, but they have a cracked piece of glass in their front door.  You may have major health problems, but they just whacked their big toe and wow did it hurt!  When you get off the phone or away from them and think back on the conversation, you wonder how you could spend 45 minutes talking about their hangnail when your arm is broken and bleeding (not literally mind you, but the same principle applies).

However, my friend is a kind, caring, compassionate person.  So she listened and listened and listened.  Feeling ever more helpless and ever more burdened.  She was telling me how this was affecting other areas of her life because she was so weighted down with everyone else’s problems that all she did was worry.

Now there are times in my walk with the Holy Spirit that I seriously question why He sends certain things my way.  One of these questions recently had to do with chains and rocks.  I believe I’ve related some of that here, but for those who missed it… At a certain organization I’m involved with, they have encouraged us to carry rocks around to remind ourselves not to throw them at others.  We also have links of chain with prayer people’s names attached.  First of all, I don’t want my name attached to any chain.  God did not make me to be attached to chains–theoretical or literal.  And I don’t believe He made you for that purpose either.  So every time I’ve gotten a prayer partner’s chain, I have taken it and laid it at the foot of the cross I have in my dining room.

As my friend was telling me about her situation, I started thinking about those chains, and I told her, “The problem is you think when someone hands you their chain that you have to carry it.  So you’re walking around collecting all of these chains and wondering why you are getting so tired.  The idea is not to carry someone else’s chains, nor to help them carry their chains, nor even to carry your own chains.  The POINT is to get very good at taking ALL of those chains to the cross and letting God deal with them.”

Interestingly she called me this morning, and she sounded… light.  She said that not only has she been taking the chains to the cross, but she has been sharing with others how to do that as well… and it’s working!

I wish I could consistently remember that when I’m in YUCK, God is teaching me something I’m going to need in bringing His love into the world.  A lot of times I remember.  Sometimes not so much.  It sure helps when I do remember that because over and over again God has shown that He doesn’t send me through YUCK for kicks… it’s always to learn something I could not have learned any other way, and always so through that lesson I can become a channel for His love into the world.  So, for the love He’s shown in my life and the lives of others through it, I guess having my name attached to a chain for awhile was worth it.

One Response to Chains

  1. clamorousvoice says:

    This reminds me of something our vicar told us to do at a service for kids – the same idea, just in a different way! We were told, whenever we felt really angry or sad about something somebody had done, to ‘give it to Jesus’. Standard advice, and just right, of course, but the way he said to do it was something special. To mime rolling up all our anger and grief into a ball, like crumpling paper, and then to ‘throw’ the ball as hard as we could, up into the sky, knowing it would reach Jesus, and as we ‘threw’ the ball away from us, we knew we didn’t have to worry about it any more. Different metaphors for different groups, I suppose!

    Thanks for your post.

Leave a Reply

