Computer Problems?

By: Dennis Bates

My brother is a Presbyterian pastor of a little country church in north central Iowa. And when I say country, I mean it is literally out in the country. His closest neighbor is a pig farmer, and several of the days I have been at his house, that neighbor is a little too close as far as I’m concerned. He says he and his wife are used to it. I say their nasal bodies must be dead.

Nevertheless, through the wonder of the Internet, he sends me his weekly devotional. I missed a couple of his messages recently, and I always look forward to them, so I had to wonder what was going on. This past week I found out. Computer trouble. Been there, done that and have all the sizes of the T shirt. Those of you who know about computer problems can probably relate to my brother’s tale of woe, so I am going to reprint it here. I particularly like the way he tied it to a hymn at the end.

  As I mentioned a couple of weeks ago I’m working at a new computer.  Writing that devotion was the first time I had sent out an email.  After I had finished writing, I did a spell check on it and an error message came up, something like, “The language you are using is not supported by spell check.”  What?!  I was typing in English not Bulgarian!  The document I was writing was in English, the command buttons were in English, and the error message was in English.  But spell check thought I was typing in another language?  I checked the on-line message boards and got a suggestion.  When that didn’t work I found another idea: go to the tools button, select options, find language and make sure English is checked.  I did and, of course, English was selected, but I “selected” it again and, presto!  Spell check recognized English was English.  It realized I wasn’t trying to use another language.   

    According to one hymn, no matter what language we use none is adequate to describe what Jesus Christ has done for us. 

    What language shall I borrow to thank thee, dearest friend,

    for this thy dying sorrow, thy pity without end? 

    O make me thine forever; and should I fainting be,

    Lord, let me never, never outlive my love to thee. 

                                    [“O Sacred Head, Now Wounded” v. 3] 

All I can add to that is Amen!

 

                           

Leave a Reply

