Except for the Eagles

By: Dennis Bates

The world was all before them, where to choose

Their place of rest, and providence their guide.

They hand in hand with wandering steps and slow,

Through Eden took their solitary way.

Paradise Lost

The world changed in the late 60’s as the Baby Boomers came of age. Adam and Jack watched those changes, and, in their own different ways took part in them. Now, like all Boomers, they are getting old and wonder where all the promise of their generation went. What happened? In a love story told by both of them about each other and two different women, they try to understand:  Can Paradise, once it has been lost, ever be found again?

Except for the Eagles is a story about lost dreams, lost hope and forgotten priorities. It is a love story that incorporates both traditional and quirky; past and present; energy and apathy. Most of all, however, it is a story told about a hillside above a small Iowa river town, a landmark church in the center of that town,  and the eagles that soar over the river. If we are patient and wait for the updrafts, it is never too late to soar like an eagle.

 If you haven’t figured it out by now, you have just read a shameless plug for my latest novel, which came out this week. I would prefer to call it a marketing opportunity, but it is what it is. I self publish through www.lulu.com, so it can be purchased there by searching the Romance section by title or my name. It can also be purchased online from Amazon or Barnes and Noble, and through the books section on my web page at www.dennisbates.com. It’s also available as a download.

As the bio page in my book indicates, this story is to some degree a labor of love for me. It deals with the Baby Boomer generation and what became of it. Born in 1947, I am a product of that generation. I lived it and still do, but sometimes I wonder where it all went so very quickly. One minute we were young and the next minute we weren’t. The time in between is all a blur in some respects, although every day that blur starts to come into focus for me.

Because I see everything as a love story, I have tried to capture my generation in two interwoven love stories that aren’t always happy but still search for hope. My characters don’t always make the choices that characters in traditional “Love Inspired” stories make. That may bother some of you, but to me it makes the characters real, like the people I know and the person I am. I can identify with them and feel what they feel.

Fair warning.

All I ask is that you give it a chance and keep in mind as you read that underlying all of it are the verses from Isaiah 40: 29-31  that ultimately gave the book its overall theme and title: 

He gives strength to the weary,

            and increases the power of the weak.

Even youths grow tired and weary,

            and young men stumble and fall;

but those who hope in the Lord

            will renew their strength.

They will soar on wings like eagles;

            they will run and not grow weary,

            they will walk and not be faint.

I believe strongly that those eagles that Isaiah wrote about are more than beautiful and powerful birds in the sky; they are messengers that ultimately show us the way home.

Leave a Reply

