Being in the Wilderness

By:  Staci Stallings

I love how right on God is, how He can get just the message you need to you at just the moment you will hear it and understand it the most.  This morning during the sermon, our priest said that the wilderness in Scripture often means a place of not knowing.  It is that state where the situation is out of your control, and he said we all have wilderness moments.

Truthfully, I’m at the point now that I wish it were just wilderness moments.  Those moments are starting to string together into a whole wilderness period.  Two things about this are strange.  One, none of the wilderness moments are related, other than they are happening to people very, very close to me.  Two, they are happening one right after the other and sometimes one on top of the other.

The other thing that is strange in a very good way is that I’m still breathing, literally, but also figuratively in that I’m not freaking out.  In fact, I’m quite calm given that one wilderness moment in my life has resolved itself (the vision of my young friend).  One is still on-going (my husband’s work situation), and now we’ve added a new “especially now” moment–my 7-year-old son will be undergoing neurological tests to see why he has been blanking out in school.

It’s happened twice now.  Once for about 15 seconds, the second for about 10.  The issue is serious enough that they want to have him tested.

If you’re a parent, you know the fear inherent in the phrase, “We want to have your son tested for…”  Unless you end that sentence with something like, “the gifted and talented program,” you can bet fear is right there waiting to pounce on you.

Thankfully, God sends the right people at the right time, and we are gleaning a lot of good advice from lots of different sources.  So we shall see.

But you can bet as I walk through this wilderness moment (and all those that happen to crop up along with it), I will be walking by faith and not by sight just as I was last week.  I pray you find the God who walks with you through your wilderness moments as well.  He is my calm in the storm, and He wants nothing more than to be yours as well.

For those so inclined, I ask for prayers for our family and mostly my son, Andrew as he goes in for testing on Thursday morning.  That God will be with him every step from here to where it’s okay.  Thanks!  Staci

5 Responses to Being in the Wilderness

  1. praying for you Staci. I sympathize with all that you are going through. I know God is big enough. He is so able to turn all of this around for his glory and for your good. Remember that Job got twice back at the end of all his troubles out of all he had lost. God is a giver, not a taker. Wishing you many blessings, girl!
    Hugs,
    Kathy

  2. Thanks, Kathy. The hardest is always trying to remember that and keep it in focus.

    I appreciate the prayers!

  3. Patti Shene says:

    Staci, my prayers will be with you and your precious son as you face the uncertainty of what is going on. I know it is easy for me to say, but try to hold on to the fact that God knows your son even better than you do. I will pray for the right health care professionals to be in the right place at the right time so they can get this figured out. In the meantime, I’ll pray for God to calm your fears.

  4. It’s always helpful to remember that God loves Andrew even more than I do. Thanks!

  5. OMGosh, I have an Andrew, too, and he has autism. Definitely going to continue to pray.

Leave a Reply

