Thoughts on the Road

By: Dennis Bates

Today I am on the road, headed for southern Missouri so my wife can visit her 93-year-old mother. As much as I complain about technology, it’s pretty awesome to think I can stay in touch like this. My office is literally wherever my computer is, and that can be anywhere. I can take it there myself. But none of that is new. The only thing that is new is that I think it’s awesome.

God must look at what seems awesome to me and say, “Been there, done that. Not only do I have the T shirt, I made the T shirt and everything it is made from.”

Okay, so maybe that’s a bit of overzealous interpretation on my part, but He could have said it, and He could have said it before any human being discovered anything, which includes electricity itself or computer chips. What’s more, He can still say it.

If you don’t believe that, read Psalm 139, beginning at verse 8:

            If I go up to the heavens, you are there;

            if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

            If I rise on the wings of the dawn,

            if I settle on the far side of the sea,

            even there your hand will guide me,

            your right hand will hold me fast.

            If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me,”

            even the darkness will not be dark to you.

            For you created my inmost being;

            you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

            I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;

Fearfully and wonderfully made. Inspired words about me and you, and the Master Designer who did all the making. And He is everywhere long before we arrive and set up our computers. Now that is something that really is awesome.

Leave a Reply

