Freezing Rain

By: Dennis Bates

All beautiful the march of days, as seasons come and go;

The hand that shaped the rose has wrought the crystal of the snow,

Has sent the hoary frost of heaven, the flowing waters sealed,

And laid a silent loveliness on hill and wood and field.

                                                                              -Frances Whitmarsh Wile (1911)

The forecast for today is freezing rain, which may leave between a half-inch and an inch of ice over the six to eight inches of snow still left from earlier this month. The window to my basement office already has iced over, and I can hear the wind howling outside.

. The verses above came from my brother’s weekly devotional email. I love two things about them: their imagery and the message those word pictures convey.

I can see God’s own hands as they lovingly shape a perfect red rose. I can also see God’s breath in the hoary frost of heaven as it freezes the flowing waters and seals them, turning them into snow, or in my case, ice. And I am in awe.

God reveals himself readily every minute of every day. How often we forget to look for God’s awesome revelation of Himself, even in the freezing rain on my window. We serve an awesome God who loves us and shows Himself all around us every day.

All we have to do is look.

Leave a Reply

