Those Silly Ads

By: Dennis Bates

The bold type below is reprinted from my brother John’s weekly church email. It’s sort of like a blog, but done decently and in good order just as you would expect a Presbyterian minister to do things. So don’t blame him. He can’t help it. He was raised that way by our mother and trained that way by seminary professors who had neither a charming Scottish accent nor a sense of French disagreeability.

Still, he turned out pretty good in spite of having to share a room with me during his formative years. I do wish he would let go of the fact that I punched him in the stomach a little too hard for the short time that our mother allowed us to have boxing gloves, but I am beginning to think that might be too much to ask.

I don’t necessarily agree with all of his points. (Hey, he’s my brother. He would never expect me to.) For example, I thought the ads featuring men running around in the tighty whities were a refreshing alternative to the endless adds that show scantily clad women pretending that they’re selling something other than the obvious. I also sensed a minor retreat from ads that depict all men as insensitive clods who can’t manage to say “I love you” to a beautiful woman. In my opinion,  those same ads would bring down the wrath of the rabid feminist Gestapo if they depicted women that way.

But hey, I’m a dinosaur, and I’ve never played nice in small groups of obviously brain washed children. Or adults

 Basically, I found the ads much like my brother describes them. Mildly amusing at their very best. Why is it that we willingly subject ourselves to this type of silly advertisement for things we know we don’t need nor want, but we refuse to even consider things that we need desperately? Thanks for making me think, little brother. His comments follow:

I’ve never understood all the hoopla over Super Bowl commercials.  Some say they only watch the game to see the commercials, which I have to doubt.  Sit through hours of football to discover one or two slightly amusing 15 or 30 second commercials? 

After all, these are commercials – which means somebody’s trying to sell us something: cars we can’t afford or pills we don’t need.  There’s enough advertising around without intentionally subjecting ourselves to more – like the cereal stickers I’ve peeled off bananas and the labels I’ve had to tear off the front page of the newspaper.  Enough with advertising; if I watch the Super Bowl I’ll use the commercial breaks to finish reading the paper.

            Although … I read of a New York City church that launched an ad campaign in January.  The church purchased ads in subway cars, featuring the words “God is” in bright colors set on top a background of dozens of words that complete that phrase, such as “with you,” “willing to help,” “ready to forgive,” and “the one who loves you.”  Church members hope the ads will get people talking about God and religion.

            Which would be a lot more interesting than discussing the latest Doritos commercial.

 

One Response to Those Silly Ads

  1. Peg Phifer says:

    Well, tell your brother that I can testify to the “I only watch the Super Bowl for the Commercials” claim. On Sunday I had Twitter open while I ran back and forth to watch the game. I was particularly interested in the Ted Tebow and his Mom’s commercial sponsored by Focus on the Family. (I almost missed it – it was very short and I think I blinked.)

    But back to the point. I can’t tell you how many folks on Twiter (and FaceBook) who claimed they only watched for the commercials, and the dialog for those hours testified to it.

    I watched (partly, I was writing) the game for the game’s sake.

    Geaux Saintes! Amen?

Leave a Reply

