I Wish

By:  Staci Stallings

My son has gotten into strange and profound questions lately.  I don’t know why this has happened.  Maybe because his mind is now free from having to memorize every single word in the English language TWICE–once to read it, and once to spell it.  Whatever the reason, he’s gotten back into probing the depths of who I am, what I think, and why.

It reminds me a great deal of two conversations we’ve had in the past.  The first occurred when he was about 3 1/2. We were driving, and he wanted to know if everyone has to have parents, who were Adam and Eve’s parents.  Well, I tried to explain that God created Adam and Eve.  They didn’t have parents.  But that wasn’t good enough.  If everyone has to have parents, then Adam and Eve certainly had to as well.  So who were they?  We talked around and around and around that point until he was screaming at me to just tell him who they were!  I finally told him he was going to have to ask God that question because I didn’t know.

Then a couple years ago, he asked another question that I didn’t know the answer for, and I told him he was going to have to ask God.  He got very serious and asked how he was going to remember all of these questions when he got to Heaven.  He told me flat out that he couldn’t write them down because he couldn’t take them with him to Heaven.  I told him that maybe God would send an angel to get his list if he made one.  Then he started asking more questions, like, “Why couldn’t the people after Adam and Eve get into Heaven?  Were the gates closed?”  “Yes, they were.”  “And there was no way in?  Not even if you jumped really high?”

Yeah.  No kidding.

Well, this morning he came up with another.  It’s one I’ve heard before, but haven’t thought about for me in a long time.  “If you got 5 wishes, what would you wish for?”

I was honestly stumped.  I used to say things like a million dollars.  Now I see that money doesn’t buy everything.  I used to wish for a new car or a house, but I have a house and I like my car, thank you very much.  So I wasn’t sure what to even say.  World peace, maybe.  Or inner peace for everyone.  For my kids to have a good life.

Then I came in here to look for something to write for today, and I was overwhelmed by the number of books I have started!

I’m reading three on dyslexia, one for fun, several God-type books, one of my own that I’m editing, and I got two more in the mail today that friends had suggested.

So I know what one wish would be… that I would be able to read all the books I would like to read, get every nugget of good out of them, and not feel so behind as I put good stuff upon good stuff in my mind.

Another wish would be for my son’s decoding system to kick into high gear.  Oh, it’s getting there, but it’s the slow progress things that can drive me bonkers.  Not to mention that school starts in a (shhh!) month, and I would like him to be caught up or nearly caught up.  I think that’s possible.  I just wish we had a bit more time or could make a bit more progress faster.

So there’s two.  The other three I’m going to have to think about.

How about you?  What are your five wishes for today?

I’ve decided the best I can do is to commit to making a little progress on each wish each day.  Who knows, maybe the wishes will come true with or without the genie.  And who knows, maybe the genie is just God’s plan and my willingness to follow it.

Leave a Reply

