The Crazy Season

By:  Staci Stallings

Sometimes life is almost peaceful around here.  This is not one of those times.

School just started, so there is all that getting back into the groove of things thing.  But end of August to October is also one of my crazy seasons.  I have three now:  Christmas (for obvious reasons), VBS, and Carnival.

Last year both schools where my children go got really desperate for someone to run their raffles–major fundraisers for each school.  I agreed to one and got “please, please, pleased” into the other one.

Well, this year they are back.

Now honestly I don’t know that I mind doing the raffles too much.  For the most part they are fun.  I get to meet a lot of parents and I’m forced out of my normal little shell.  The problem is:   Time.  Time I don’t really have.  Every year I wonder at this point:  How am I going to get all of this done?

Because in addition to the raffles, I have my house, the finances for our family and my husband’s business, groceries and upkeep of children, extras after school for said children, yard work, laundry, editing for friends, teaching Sunday School… oh, and I write sometimes too.

It’s at times like this that I have to put all the good things I’ve learned about God to work because if I was trying to do all of this, I’d be truly crazy by this point.

The strange thing is, for way the most part, the things I’ve learned really do work.

For example, take one thing at a time.  Make a list of everything if you have to, but then concentrate on doing one thing.  Don’t try to do everything at once.  It won’t work.

Put each day in God’s hands and let Him work out your schedule.  Don’t be so beholden to your list that the Holy Spirit can’t work.  Let Him move you where He wants when He wants.  It always works out so much better like that.

Let others help.  Don’t try to do everything by yourself.  You can’t.  Let God bring into your life those who can and will help you.  And LET THEM HELP.

Finally, surrender.  You can’t do it, but God can.  If you remember that simple rule, peace is possible even in the midst of the crazy season.  Trust me.  I know.

Leave a Reply

