Being the Channel

By:  Staci Stallings

I love teaching Sunday School, mostly because it forces me to think on my feet about God.  It forces me to put pieces together to explain God and His love and how His love works in our lives and in our world.

Today we went over the term “Kingdom of God.”  Now, maybe you, like I used to, think this terms refers to Heaven–as in someday, somewhere in some far away place we will know God’s love and be at perfect peace.  Okay, it does mean that, but it also means something very different.  The Kingdom of God literally refers to God’s love active in the world RIGHT NOW.  Not someday somewhere… right here in your world and mine.

So if God’s Kingdom is supposed to be right here and right now, why don’t I feel it?  Why doesn’t this feel at all like the Heaven I imagine Heaven will be?

Here’s the thing I learned today:

There is God and there is the world.  WE are the channel through which God’s love reaches the world.  If we are not, the world is the world–dark and sinful.  If we choose to be the channel, if we choose to let God work through us, only then does His love go to work reordering the world.

We then talked about what sin does to the channel, how it breaks the flow of God’s love, how we choose to break the channel.  The way to repair it, to heal it, is to confess we’ve sinned, and allow God to reopen that pathway.

That’s not always easy, but God can and will do so if we let Him.

The truth is being a channel of His love is the most awesome way ever of spending your life.  If you don’t feel like a channel, it might be time to say the prayer of St. Francis:

“Make me a channel of Your peace,

Where there is hatred, let me bring Your love,

Where there is injury, Your pardon, Lord.

And where there’s doubt, true faith in You.

Make me a channel of Your peace,

Where there’s despair in life, let me bring hope.

Where there is darkness, only light.

And where there’s sadness ever joy.

Oh, Master, grant that I may never cease

So much to be consoled as to console,

To be understood as to understand,

And to love as to love with all my soul.

Make me a channel of Your peace

It is in pardoning that we are pardoned.

In giving of ourselves that we receive,

and in dying that we’re born to eternal life.”

3 Responses to Being the Channel

  1. […] when we talked a week or so ago about being a channel of God’s love.  This is that same point.  As a Christian, you have everything you need for whatever situation […]

Leave a Reply

